When can I let this go…

July 9, 2014

photo(9)

We periodically go through our “stuff” – sorting them into 3 piles – donate, not sure & keep. We’ve trained our now 10 year old to do the same…yes, much to my chagrin, we all feel pretty attached to most items that have ANY emotional connection to just about ANYTHING!

This created many discussions concerning my sculpture projects from my college days…yes…my husband insisted that those “boxes” can be reused…did he think that it was an easy decision for me? WHY did he think that I wanted to be rid of them…well…ok, they represented another life…I was not a happy camper…they reeked of darkness to me…”good riddance” I told him…but really? Did I really mean it? Not really…but I knew that it had to be done.

Out with the old, in with the new…but THIS? Sigh…this little table is a miracle child from the scrap pile in our sculpture department. We (my sis and I) were poor “art students” living in a studio…we badly needed a table for meals…more than a quarter of a century later, I have made a decision to keep this piece of furniture. Probably, never letting this piece go…

Leave a Reply

